South River is the first community off Roaches’ Line, the connector road to the Trans Canada Highway.  It is part of the Baccalieu Trail, a scenic drive around the Conception Bay, Trinity Bay areas.

Politically, South River is in the Provincial District of Harbour Main and in the Federal District of Avalon.
South River is a beautiful, quiet town where the green country atmosphere contrasts with the spectacular seascapes seen in most of the Baccalieu Trail.

The area at one time had a thriving lumber and boat building industry. Logs were floated down the river to the shore.

The Town of South River is governed by a council of seven residents, who are elected for a four year term.

The current Council consists of the following members;

Mayor: Scott Rose
Deputy Mayor: Melissa Hierlihy
Councillor’s: David McLean, Beverley Wells, Darrell Percy, Joyce Petten, Arthur Petten

Town Clerk: Marjorie Dawson
Maintenance Personal: Rodney Linthorne

Town Office located at 27 Salmon Cove Road, South River

Town of South River
P.O. Box 40
South River, NL  A0A 3W0

Town OfficeHours:

Monday  9:00 am – 4:30 pm
Tuesday  9:00 am – 4:30 pm
Wednesday  9:00 am – 4:30 pm
Thursday  11:00 am – 6:00 pm
Friday  9:00 am – 4:30 pm

Regular Council Meeting: First Wednesday of each month ad 7:30 pm unless stated otherwise

Recreation Committee – is a volunteer based committee consisting of 7 members. Click here to visit the Recreation Committees Facebook page.

Town of South River © 2014 Frontier Theme